CCSESA FOCUS

A Weekly Update to County Superintendents of Schools

Friday, March 14, 2014

Legislative Committee Begins Review of Legislation

The deadline in the California State Legislature to introduce new bills was February 21. The first major legislative deadline is for policy committees (such as Assembly Education) to take action on bills with a fiscal impact by May 2.

For CCSESA, positions in support or opposition to legislation are taken by the Legislative Committee, which is chaired by Kenn Young, Riverside County Superintendent of Schools. Each region has a representative on the Legislative Committee, as does each of the five steering committees. CCSESA staff to the Legislative Committee is Sandra Morales.

CCSESA has adopted legislative priorities and a set of principles that is used by the Legislative Committee and CCSESA staff to evaluate proposed legislation. That document may be found on the CCSESA website at http://ccsesa.org/?wpfb dl=3145.

If you have concerns or recommendations about a specific bill, our recommendation is that you contact the representative for your region or steering committee. If you have questions about a bill, please contact Sandra Morales at smorales@ccsesa.org.

The next CCSESA Legislative Committee meeting is on March 20, and a list of the CCSESA positions on bills approved by that committee will be posted on the CCSESA website by the end of the day on March 21.

Members of the 2014 CCSESA Legislative Committee are as follows: **Superintendents**: Kenn Young, Riverside County, (Chair); Steve Herrington, Sonoma County; Tracey Quarne, Glenn County; Bill Cornelius, Sutter County; Jay Speck, Solano County; Michael Watkins, Santa Cruz; Tom Changnon, Stanislaus County; Jim Vidak, Tulare County; Julian Crocker, San Luis Obispo County; Anne Mallory, Imperial County, and Arturo Delgado, Los Angeles County. **Steering Committee Liaisons:** Ted Alejandre, San Bernardino – Business and Administration Representative; Judy Flores, Shasta – Curriculum and Instruction Representative; Steve Olmos, Butte – Student Programs and Services Representative; Karen De Prater, San Joaquin – Personnel and Administrative Services Representative, and Dane Lancaster, Marin – Technology and Telecommunications Representative.

Contact: Peter Birdsall, Executive Director • P: (916) 446-3095 • C. (916) 719-1315

pbirdsall@ccsesa.org • www.ccsesa.org