GENERAL MEMBERSHIP



Tuesday, April 26, 2022 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM Zoom

ATTENDANCE

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Debra Duardo (Los Angeles), *President*Gayle Garbolino-Mojica, *President-Elect*LK Monroe (Alameda), *Past-President*Mary Barlow (Kern), *Treasurer*Michael West (Colusa), *State & Federal Legislative*Committee Chair

REGION CHAIRS

Jeff Harris (Del Norte), Region 1
Rich DuVarney (Tehama), Region 2
Ed Manansala (El Dorado), Region 3
Barbara Nemko (Napa) Region 4
Mary Ann Dewan (Santa Clara), Region 5
Scott Kuykendall (Tuolumne), Region 6
Cecilia Massetti (Madera), Region 7

Barry Simpson (Inyo), *Region 10* Debra Duardo (Los Angeles), *Region 11*

Susan Salcido (Santa Barbara), Region 8

STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Dave Gordon (Sacramento), Business Partnerships Standing Committee

STEERING COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Jennie Snyder (Sonoma), CISC Shannon Hansen (San Benito), BASC John Laughlin (Sacramento), PASSCO Eric Calderon (Riverside), TSC Susan Connolly (Placer), SPSSC

SUPERINTENDENTS

Matt Strahl (Alpine) Mary Sakuma (Butte) Scott Nanik (Calaveras) Lynn Mackey (Contra Costa) Jim Yovino (Fresno) Michael Davies-Hughes (Humboldt) Todd Barlow (Kings) Brock Falkenberg (Lake) Patty Gunderson (Lassen) Mary Jane Burke (Marin) Jeff Aranguena (Mariposa) Michelle Hutchins (Mendocino) Steve Tietjen (Merced) Mike Martin (Modoc) Stacey Adler (Mono) Deneen Guss (Monterey) Scott Lay (Nevada)

GUESTS

Karen Vail, Colusa Ebonee Weathers, San Diego Rachel Touzard, Los Angeles Travis Haskill Sonya Smith Sarah Grantano, Stanislaus

Michelle Zevely Mike Fine, FCMAT

Al Mijares (Orange)

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP



Krystal Lomanto (San Benito)

Ted Alejandre (San Bernardino)

Vincent Matthews (San Francisco)

Troy Brown (San Joaquin)

Jim Brescia (San Luis Obispo)

Nancy Magee (San Mateo)

Faris Sabbah (Santa Cruz)

James Berardi (Sierra)

Lisette Estrella-Henderson (Solano)

Steve Herrington (Sonoma)

Sarah Supahan (Trinity)

Tim Hire (Tulare)

Cesar Morales (Ventura)

Garth Lewis, (Yolo)

CCSESA STAFF

Karen Stapf-Walters, Executive Director

Derick Lennox, Senior Director, Governmental Relations and

Legal Affairs

Sarah Anderberg, Director, CCSESA Arts Initiative

Kindra Britt, Director, Communications & Strategy

Lindsay Tornatore, Director, Learning & Accountability

Tiffanie Floyd, Director, Finance & Operations

Ashley Lugo, Executive Assistant & Policy Analyst

Malia Gonsalves, Analyst, Member Services & Events

Jessie Mapes, Arts Program Assistant

Micah Studer, Yolo

Melissa Schoonmaker, Los Angeles

Marian Chiara, Los Angeles

Kristin Wright, Sacramento

Kanika White

Jessica McCreary

Hilda Wright

Fabiola Bagula

Erin Cross, Stanislaus

Steven Dorsey, San Diego

Daisy Esqueda, Los Angeles

Alicia Garoupa, Los Angeles

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP



CALL TO ORDER	President Debra Duardo (Los Angeles) called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM.
Student Performances	President Debra Duardo (Los Angeles) provided opening remarks and presented a video featuring students Leilani Patao, Sam Karpinkski, Liana Bartolome and Randy Damas from the Los Angeles County High School of the Arts with their rendition of <i>Louder Than Words</i> . You may find the video <u>linked here</u> .
Approval of Consent Agenda	Barbara Nemko (Nemko) motioned to approve the consent agenda. Jim Yovino (Fresno) seconded, and the motion passed unanimously. This included approval of: Adoption of the Agenda; Approval of the January 25, 2022 Meeting Minutes
CCSESA Business	 Mary Sakuma (Butte) motioned to approve the proposed membership dues framework. Tim Hire (Tulare) seconded, and the motion passed unanimously. The Membership elected Lisette Estrella-Henderson (Solano) as CCSESA Treasurer for 2022-24. Lisette's term began upon election. Gayle Garbolino-Mojica (Placer), Karen Stapf-Walters and Derick Lennox presented information on and opened for discussion the recommendation for CCSESA to form a 501(c)(6) political action. The regions were asked to discuss the proposal at their regional meetings.
Equity: Each & Every Child Focus	As part of the CCSESA Equity Initiative, Ebonee Weathers , District Advisor, Equity Department, San Diego County Office of Education, conducted an interactive discussion of LGBTQIA+ education and advocacy and how to support LGBTQIA+ youth and families. You may view Ebonee's <u>presentation</u> <u>here</u> and collaborative <u>Jamboard here</u>
Equity: Each & Every Child Focus (cont.)	The Membership participated in breakout sessions of their choice. Student Mental Health and Wellness- Dave Gordon (Sacramento) and Amanda Dickey led a discussion between county superintendents who are participating in the Student Behavioral Health Incentive Program (SBHIP). Superintendents will have an

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP



	opportunity to ask colleagues questions and share how they are implementing the assessment, when they plan to implement interventions, and allocation of funding to the COE. You may view the notes here.
	➤ Preventing and Addressing Chronic Absenteeism through Outreach and Engagement - President Debra Duardo, Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools; Alicia Garoupa, Chief of Wellbeing and Support Services; Melissa Schoonmaker, Project Director III, and Marian Chiara, Coordinator II, Child Welfare and Attendance Unit discussed strategies to prevent and address chronic absenteeism in the post-pandemic educational landscape. You may find their notes here.
	Special Education: Increasing Inclusive Practices - Scott Kuykendall, Stanislaus Superintendent of Schools; Sarah Grantano, Assistant Superintendent Special Education and Health Services; Erin Cross, Director II of School and District Support shared Stanislaus' journey to deepen collaboration with districts to increase inclusion practices and build capacity to meet the needs of all students. You may find their notes here.
Legislative Action and Engagement	➤ Derick Lennox and Lindsay Tornatore provided an update on CCSESA's budget request around the Statewide System of Support and Differentiated Assistance. They also shared new and revised resources to aid in members' discussions with their legislators including a <u>revised</u> fact sheet, background information on the System of Support and our funding request, improvement journey visual, fiscal breakdown and pitch deck.
	Mary Ann Dewan (Santa Clara) and Stacey Adler (Mono), co-chairs of the CCSESA Special Education Advisory Group provided an update on their recent meetings, highlighting the work that COEs are already doing to improve inclusion practices and policies that CCSESA should and should not support to promote and support students with disabilities. You may view their <u>update here</u> .
Steering Committee Chairs and Incoming Chairs	President Debra Duardo hosted a conversation with the steering committee chairs, Eric Calderon (Riverside), TSC Chair, Shannon Hansen (San Benito), BASC Chair, Jennie Snyder (Sonoma), CISC Chair, Susan Connolly (Placer),

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP



	SPSSC Chair, and John Laughlin (Sonoma), PASSCo Chair. The Chairs highlighted their goals for the year, including the alignment of Steering Committee policies and goals to the CCSESA strategic plan and the strengthening of support for COEs in their respective fields.
CCSESA Updates	 President-elect Gayle Garbolino-Mojica (Placer), Ceci Massetti (Madera) and Karen Stapf-Walters provided an update on the implementation of the strategic plan, including a recap of the Strategy Committee's in person meeting on April 6th to refine the sub goals and recommended actions and the project to develop a new County Superintendent Academy with robust training and materials for all superintendents. Sarah Anderberg gave an update on the CCSESA Statewide Arts Initiative as they celebrate Arts, Culture and Creativity Month with new creativity and leadership resources. You may find the full update with links to the resources here.
Adjourn	President Debra Duardo (Los Angeles) adjourned the meeting at 1:00 PM