







California County Superintendents
Educational Services Association













Plumas Unified School District

June 8, 2022

Governor Gavin Newsom Governor's Office State Capitol, First Floor Sacramento, CA 95814 Senator Toni G. Atkins President pro Tempore California State Senate Sacramento, CA 95814

Assembly Member Anthony Rendon Speaker of the Assembly California State Assembly Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: Opposition to the Legislative Budget — Transportation Proposal

We write to express our serious concerns and opposition to the Legislature's transportation budget proposal. The proposal would mandate offering all TK-6 and low-income students home-to-school transportation by 2027-2028, without any guarantee of funding.

The home-to-school transportation program is woefully underfunded and has not received a funding increase for 10 years. Districts are currently required to transport students with disabilities, but receive cents on the dollar as reimbursement for their expenses.

While we understand the intent behind providing transportation to more students, this major expansion will cost billions of dollars. For the small population of students currently receiving home-to-school transportation, districts are paying an estimated \$1.2 billion out of their general funds. The proposed expansion will exponentially increase the population receiving transportation and will result in























MENTO PARK





many billions of dollars being diverted from the classroom and the core instructional needs of all students.

Further, school districts across the state are facing dire shortages of buses and drivers. Rather than increasing the workforce, this proposal exacerbates the current hiring crisis by creating additional hurdles to becoming a school bus driver. The proposal also eliminates the ability of school districts to offer transportation services for a fee. To compensate for the current underfunded system, many transportation programs are paid for by fees. Current law prohibits low-income students from being charged any fees, but many middle and upper-income families can afford nominal fees to support the service. If adopted, this proposal will close those programs that many parents rely on.

We appreciate the Legislature's acknowledgment of the importance of home-to-school transportation. However, school districts simply do not have the human capital, vehicle capacity, or funds to fulfill a mandate of this magnitude. For these reasons, we respectfully request you to oppose the Legislature's transportation budget proposal.

Sincerely,



Legislative Advocate
Association of California School Administrators

Derick Lennox

Senior Director, Governmental Relations and Legal Affairs California County Superintendents Educational Services Association

Michelle McKay Underwood

Vice President School Services of California, Inc. California School Funding Coalition Clovis Unified School District Torrance Unified School District

Carlos Rojas

Assistant Superintendent Kern County Superintendent of Schools

Cheryl Ide

Legislative Advocate California School Boards Association

Caitlin Jung

Legislative Council, Capitol Advisors Group School Employers Association of California

Barrett Snider

Partner, Capitol Advisors Group Small School Districts Association

Todd Barlow

Superintendent of Schools
Kings County Office of Education

Patricia Gunderson

County Superintendent Lassen County Office of Education



Mary Jane Burke

Superintendent of Schools

Marin County Office of Education

Lisa Cavin

Acting County Superintendent of Schools

Plumas County Office of Education

Krystal Lomanto

County Superintendent

San Benito County Office of Education

Cathy Parker

County Superintendent

Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools

Audra Pittman, Ph.D.

Superintendent

Bayshore Elementary School District

Dr. Shelly Viramontez

Superintendent

Campbell Union School District

Parvin Ahmadi

Superintendent

Castro Valley Unified School District

Lori L. Villanueva

Superintendent

Coalinga Huron Unified School District

Dalia Gadelmawla

Chief Business Officer

Corona-Norco Unified School District

Anne Silavs

Superintendent

Cypress School District

Santino Danisi

Chief Financial Officer

Fresno Unified School District

Fal Asrani Ed.D.

Superintendent

Marysville Joint Unified School District

Sara Noguchi, Ed.D.

Superintendent

Modesto City Schools

Scott Lay

Superintendent of Schools

Nevada County Office of Education

Jeffrey A. Vaca

Superintendent of Schools

Riverside County Office of Education

Richard DuVarney

County Superintendent

Tehama County Department of Education

Randall M. Seals

Superintendent

Bass Lake Joint Union Elementary School District

Dana Eaton

Superintendent

Brentwood Union School District

Patrick Brose

Superintendent

Camptonville Union Elementary School District

Dr. Benjamin Churchill

Superintendent

Carlsbad Unified School District

Amy Alzina, Ed.D.

Superintendent/Principal

Cold Spring School District

Dawn Mori

Superintendent

Curtis Creek School District

Ron Carruth, Ed.D.

Superintendent

El Dorado Union High School District

Sherry A. Martin

Superintendent/Principal

Kings River Union Elementary School District

Erik Burmeister

Superintendent

Menlo Park City School District

Tom O'Malley

Superintendent

Modoc Joint Unified School District

Dr. PK Diffenbaugh

Superintendent

Monterey Peninsula Unified School District

Jeff Pelzel

Superintendent of Schools Newhall School District

Dr. Driscoll Helmstedter

Superintendent

Ocean View School District

Don Austin

Superintendent of Schools
Palo Alto Unified School District

Christine Facella

Superintendent

Riverbank Unified School District

Jorge Aguilar

Superintendent

Sacramento City Unified School District

Jodee Brentlinger

Superintendent

Solana Beach School District

Tom Hoskins

Superintendent

Vallecito Union School District

Cali Binks

Superintendent

Yucaipa-Calimesa Joint Unified School District

Brett W. McFadden

Superintendent

Nevada Joint Union High School District

Curtiss Sarikey

Chief of Staff

Oakland Unified School District

Holly C. Edds, Ed.D.

Superintendent

Orcutt Union School District

Dr. Marian Kim Phelps

Superintendent

Poway Unified School District

Alejandro Ruvalcaba

Superintendent

Rosemead School District

Andy Johnsen, Ed.D.

Superintendent

San Marcos Unified School District

Karen Villalobos, Ed.D.

Superintendent/Principal

Twin Rivers Charter School

Craig M. Guensler

Superintendent

Wheatland School District

Robert Adams

Superintendent

Redding Elementary School District Shasta Elementary School District Igo Ono Platina School District New Millennium Partnership