

California County Superintendents Educational Services Association

Promoting, influencing, and advocating for high-quality education.

Strategy Committee Update – Discussion Item

Recommendation: That the Board of Directors support the plans of the newly formed Strategy Committee, chaired by Gayle Garbolino-Mojica, who will be CCSESA President-elect in the transition in 2022, and will help carry the implementation of the strategic plan throughout her presidency.

Background: The next step for implementing the CCSESA 2022-2026 Strategic Plan is to establish a Strategy Committee (SC) to carry this forward and provide recommendations to the Board for their approval. A formal rollout to the general membership would follow Board approval. The committee will be representative of the diversity of our 58 counties by including members from north, south, central, large, small, urban, rural counties.

Guided by Karen Stapf Walters, Gary Jones (on loan from Alameda COE), and Kindra Britt, the committee has been formed, and will meet for the first time on December 15th.

The goal of the first meeting is to start reviewing the Year 1 goals for the plan, and to categorize the other recommendations into multi-year goals for the organization to use as a road map for implementation.

The committee will meet monthly, and after the December meeting, will take advantage of being together at the General Membership Meeting in January to meet in person for that month. Over the next several months the SC will meet regularly to design a phased implementation of the elements of the plan. A draft proposal will be brought to the Board to be distributed to regions for their input prior to Board action.

The committee represents the diversity of CCSESA membership by having representation from nearly all regions and is listed below.

Committee Chair: Gayle Garbolino-Mojica, President-Elect

Committee Members:

- Region 1 Steve Herrington Region 2 – Rich DuVarney Region 3 – Garth Lewis Region 4 – L.K. Monroe (President/Past-President) Region 5 – Krystal Lomanto Region 6 – Scott Nanik Region 7 – Tim Hire Region 8 – Jim Brescia Region 9 – TBD
- Region 10 Ted Alejandre
- Region 11 Debra Duardo via her Presidency