

# California County Superintendents Educational Services Association

1121 L Street, Suite 510, Sacramento, CA 95814 • P 916.446.3095 • F 916.448.7801 • www.ccsesa.org

June 21, 2020

#### 2021 Awards Overview

# **Summary**

Under the leadership of President-Elect Debra Duardo, the Awards Committee held a Zoom call on June 2, 2021, to select the 2021 CCSESA awards recipients. The Awards Committee consists of the previous year's recipients, in attendance was Judy Flores (Shasta) and James Brescia, (San Luis Obispo). Awards Committee member Gayle Garbolino-Mojica (Placer) was not able to participate. Also present on the call were the following CCSESA staff members: Karen Stapf Walters, Derick Lennox, Kindra Britt, Samantha Mincher and Ashley Lugo.

#### Report

The 2021 Awards Committee made the following selections:

Executive Leadership Award**	Debra Duardo (LACOE) and Paul Gothold (San Diego COE)
	For all their work with homeland security and in educating migrant children.
Professional Publication Award**	Mary Ann Dewan Ways2Equity Playbook (Santa Clara COE)
	This publication was selected in that it helps schools and districts to focus and deepen their equity efforts already in progress. The Playbook does this by providing overviews of major equity issues in education across various categories, tools, resources, and reading material to guide specific parts of the work and includes reflection questions for individual and group discussion.
Technological Innovation Award**	Greg Lindner (LACOE), Chief Technology Officer at LACOE
	Mr. Lindner has been a leader in ensuring LACOE is leveraging technology to facilitate data sharing with school districts regarding some of LACOE's most vulnerable youth and support the instructional programs in our Juvenile Court Schools. In addition to this Mr. Linder and LACOEs technology team developed the Educational Passport System (data sharing technology) and the JCS Online Learning System (a customized learning management system for students in LA's Juvenile Court Schools.)
Legislator of the Year**	The Honorable John Laird California State Senate
	For his continued strong support of COEs roles and responsibilities through his role as a budget subcommittee chair.
CCSESA Legacy Award	Michael Hulsizer, Kern COE
	For continually providing sound, wise, steady leadership for not only Kern COE, but all 58 Counties and CCSESA.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Awards are submitted to AESA for national consideration.

# **Background**

As stated in the CCSESA Bylaws:

"An Awards Committee shall be established each year. The Awards Committee shall be chaired by the President-Elect for that calendar year, and such other persons as directed by the Board. The awards considered shall include but are not limited to:

- Executive Leadership Award;
- Professional Publication Award:
- o Technical Innovation Award;
- Legislator of the Year Award"

**Description of Awards:** 

# **CCSESA Executive Leadership/AESA Justus A. Prentice Award**

Awarded to an individual for contributions through executive leadership in the advancement of county office of education programs at the regional, state, and/or national levels.

### Criteria:

- Advancement of the goals and philosophies of county offices of education.
- Outstanding accomplishments and innovative practices.
- Exercise of leadership.
- Service to county offices of education.

#### Past winners include:

2015	Ms. Gayle Garbolino-Mojica, Placer County Office of Education
2016	Mr. Stanley Mantooth, Ventura County Office of Education
2017	Bill Cirone, Santa Barbara County Office of Education
2018	Dr. Steven D. Herrington, Sonoma County Office of Education
2019	Ms. Judy Flores, Shasta County Office of Education
2020	Dr. Judy White, Riverside County Office of Education

# CCSESA Legislator of the Year Award/AESA Walter G. Turner Award

Awarded to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to legislation for the advancement of county office of education programs at the regional, state, and/or national levels.

#### Criteria:

- Advancement of the goals and philosophies of county offices of education.
- Outstanding accomplishments and innovative practices.
- Exercise of leadership.
- Service to the community of county offices of education.

#### Past winners include:

2015	The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, United States House of Representatives
	The Honorable Richard Pan and the Honorable Ben Allen, California State Senate
2016	The Honorable Kristin Olsen, California State Assembly
2017	The Honorable Kevin McCarty, California State Assembly
2018	The Honorable Patrick O'Donnell, California State Assembly
2019	The Honorable Richard D. Roth, California State Senate
2020	The Honorable Toni Atkins, California State Senate

# **CCSESA Professional Publication Award/AESA E. Robert Stephens Award**

Awarded to an individual for research, writing, and/or publishing of information that advances the understanding of county office of education programs at the regional, state, and/or national levels. The work(s) may include, but are not limited to articles, monographs, dissertations, a book chapter, or a book.

## Criteria:

- Advancement of the goals and philosophies of county offices of education.
- Scholarly nature of the work(s).
- Impact of the research, writing(s) and/or publication(s) on county offices of education.

## Past winners include:

2015	Ms. Judy Flores, Shasta County Office of Education
2016	Mr. Kenn Young, Riverside County Office of Education
2017	
2018	Dr. James J. Brescia, San Luis Obispo County Office of Education
2019	Ms. L. Karen Monroe & Charter Authorizers Task Force, Alameda County Office of Education
2020	Mr. Sheldon Smith/BASC's Professional Publication Award for the CCSESA Emergency Recovery Guide

# CCSESA Technological innovation award/AESA Brian L. Talbott Award

Awarded to an individual or agency for contribution in the area of technological innovation and support to local districts and county offices of education.

## Criteria:

- Advancement of the goals and philosophies of county offices of education.
- Evidence that agency/person has provided innovative technology support to constituent schools in the areas of instruction and/or business management that has caused positive improvement; and/or
- Evidence that the agency/person has effectively used technology for enhancing the agency's own operation and accountability.

#### Past winners include:

2015	K12 High Speed Network, Imperial County Office of Education
2016	Education Matters, Fresno County Superintendent of Schools
2017	Tim Bowers, Kings County Office of Education
2018	Riverside & San Diego Counties (Joint Award)
2019	Mr. Tim Hire, Tulare County Office of Education
2020	