California County Superintendents Educational Services Association

1121 L Street, Suite 510, Sacramento, CA 95814 P 916.446.3095 F 916.448.7801 www.ccsesa.org

Item 3.3: Formation of the 2021 Awards Committee

Recommendation: That the Board of Directors approve the nominations for members of the 2021 Awards Committee, chaired by President-Elect Debra Duardo (Los Angeles).

Background: Per the CCSESA Bylaws, "An awards committee shall be established each year. The awards committee shall be chaired by the president-elect for that calendar year, and such other persons as directed by the Board. The awards considered shall include, but are not limited to:

Each year, CCSESA selects up to six annual awards recipients, as follows:

- **Executive Leadership Award** advance of COE programs
- **Professional Publication Award** research, writing, and/or publishing of information that advances the understanding of COE programs.
- **Legislator of the Year Award** outstanding contributions to legislation for the advancement of COE programs
- **Technology Award** an individual or agency for contribution in the area of technological innovation and support to local districts and COEs
- **Perpetual Award** outstanding accomplishments
- Champions Award epitomizes mission of CCSESA

The first four awards are aligned with those given annually by CCSESA's national affiliate, the Association of Educational Services Agencies (AESA), and can be forwarded for consideration.

Selection is made by the Awards Committee, CCSESA protocol has been that committee consists of President-elect (Dr. Debra Duardo) and last year's awards winners:

- Ms. Judy Flores (Winner: 2019 Executive Leadership Award) replacing Dr. Judy White who won the award in 2020
- Dr. James Brescia (on behalf of Sheldon Smith/BASC's Professional Publication Award for the CCSESA Emergency Recovery Guide)
- Ms. Gayle Garbolino-Mojica (Winner: 2020 Perpetual Award for Outstanding Accomplishments)

The Champions Award recipient is kept secret until presentation in October and is selected by CCSESA Past Presidents:

Mr. Ted Alejandre

Dr. Ed Manansala

Dr. Stacey Adler

Mr. David W. Gordon

Ms. Mary Jane Burke