FLOOR ALERT - SUPPORT SB/AB 86



Members of the Legislature:

On behalf of the undersigned groups representing public school agencies, we are pleased to express our support for SB 86 / AB 86, as amended March 1, 2021. The amendments to the bill go a long way to addressing nearly all of our concerns, particularly those related to collective bargaining, testing cadences, timelines and timing. This plan prioritizes our state's most vulnerable students, bringing them one step closer to safely returning to the learning communities entrusted with their care.

We also want to express our sincere appreciation to the excellent staffs of the two houses and the Administration for the hard work they put into crafting a compromise on this important issue.

We urge all members of the Legislature to support this compromise, as it will provide needed resources to keep schools that are delivering in-person instruction open, and to more quickly open schools to in-person instruction in California.

If we can provide any additional information, please contact Edgar Zazueta (ezazueta@acsa.org).

Sincerely,

STATEWIDE ASSOCIATIONS

Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) California Association of Latino Superintendents and Administrators (CALSA) California Association of School Business Officials (CASBO) California Association of Suburban Schools (CalSSD) California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) School Employers Association of California (SEAC) Small School Districts Association (SSDA)

COUNTY SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOLS

Alameda County Superintendent of Schools, L. K. Monroe Calaveras County Superintendent of Schools, Scott Nanik Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools, Lynn Mackey Fresno County Superintendent of Schools, Jim Yovino Humboldt County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Chris Hartley Imperial County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. J. Todd Finnell Inyo County Superintendent of Schools, Barry Simpson Kings County Superintendent of Schools, Todd Barlow Lake County Superintendent of Schools, Brock Falkenberg Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Debra Duardo Madera County Superintendent of Schools, Cecilia A Massetti Mendocino County Superintendent of Schools, Michelle Hutchins Merced County Superintendent of Schools, Steve M. Tietjen Modoc County Superintendent of Schools, Mike Martin Mono County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Stacey Adler Napa County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Barbara Nemko Orange County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Al Mijares Placer County Superintendent of Schools, Gayle Garbolino-Mojica Riverside County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Edwin Gomez Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools, Dave Gordon San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, Ted Alejandre San Diego County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Paul Gothold San Joaquin County Superintendent of Schools, James Mousalimas San Luis Obispo County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. James Brescia San Mateo County Superintendent of Schools, Nancy Magee Santa Barbara County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Susan Salcido Santa Clara County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Mary Ann Dewan Santa Cruz County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Faris Sabbah Sonoma County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Steven Herrington Stanislaus County Superintendent of Schools, Scott Kuykendall Siskiyou County Superintendent of Schools, Kermith R. Walters Tehama County Superintendent of Schools, Rich Duvarney Tulare County Superintendent of Schools, Tim A. Hire Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools, Cathy A. Parker Ventura County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Cesar Morales

SCHOOL DISTRICTS

Antelope Valley Union HSD **Bayshore ESD Beaumont USD** Campbell Union SD Capistrano USD Central Valley Education Coalition (CVEC) Corona-Norco USD El Dorado Union HSD Escondido Union SD Fresno USD Gateway Community Charters Goleta Union SD Hemet USD Hillsborough City SD Hueneme ESD Inglewood USD Irvine USD Jurupa ESD Las Virgines USD Mariposa County USD Merced City SD Menlo Park City SD Moreno Valley USD Mt. Diablo USD

Murietta Valley USD Napa Valley USD Natomas USD Needles USD Newhall USD Norwalk La Mirada USD Oxnard SD Pasadena USD Perris Union HSD Redondo Beach USD Redwood City SD **Riverside USD** Sacramento City USD San Jose USD San Ramon Valley USD San Ysidro USD Santa Clara USD South Bay Union SD Sulphur Springs Union SD Temecula Valley USD Ventura USD Visalia USD Wheatland SD Whittier Union HSD

Kimberly Rodriguez, Policy Director - Senate President pro Tempore Toni Atkins cc: Megan Baier, Policy Consultant - Senate President pro Tempore Toni Atkins Chris Woods, Budget Director - Senate President pro Tempore Toni Atkins Joe Stephenshaw, Staff Director - Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Elisa Wynne, Deputy Staff Director - Senate Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Education Myesha Jackson, Policy Director - Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Misty Feusahrens, Policy Consultant - Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Jason Sisney, Budget Director - Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Christian Griffith, Chief Consultant - Assembly Budget Committee Erin Gabel, Consultant - Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Brooks Allen - Executive Director, California State Board of Education Jessica Holmes - Program Budget Manager, California Department of Finance Ben Chida - Chief Deputy Cabinet Secretary, Office of Governor Gavin Newsom Kirk Feely, Senate Republican Budget Director Jean Marie McKinney, Senate Republican Budget Consultant Roger Mackensen, Senate Republican Policy Consultant Joe Shinstock, Assembly Republican Fiscal Director Carolyn Nealon, Assembly Republican Budget Consultant Bob Becker, Assembly Republican Policy Consultant